Where Are Pitbulls Banned? List Of Countries Where Pitbulls Are Banned

Pitbull ban also known as Breed Specific Legislation is a law or an order that prohibits the use or ownership of a particular breed of dog.

The rule is applicable to the main pitbull breed or dogs that resembles the main pitbull. Some of these breed of dogs are:

  • American Pitbull Terrier
  • American Staffordshire Terrier
  • English Mastiff
  • Bullmastiff
  • Bull Terrier
  • Bandog
  • East European Shepherd
  • Tosa Inu
  • Alabai
  • American Bulldog
  • Dogo Argentino
  • Rottweiler
  • English Bull Terrier
  • Doberman Pinschers
  • Dogo Canario and other breed of pitbulls.

Pitbulls are loving and loyal creatures but it’s quite unfortunate that there are still some pitbulls out there that poses as aggressive dogs and are a threat to human. That’s all the more reason why Pitbull ban exist in some countries today.

SEE MORE: 5 Different Pitbull Breeds You Should Know

Aside that, there are still other reasons why this law exist and Pitbulls are banned in different countries of the world. One of the reasons why Pitbulls are banned in certain countries is due to the fact that these breed of dogs can be very aggressive and harmful to humans most times.

There are known cases of Pitbulls aggressive nature and how they bite humans which is a pointer to how dangerous they can be. This is also as a result of how they were bred by cruel breeders for dog fight and blood sport.

Unfortunately, some dog owners sees their aggressive nature as an advantage to make money engaging their pitbulls in dog fights. This is an illegal act and one of the reasons why the pitbull bans and legislature still exist in some countries.

SEE MORE: All You Should Know About the Blue American Pit Bull Terrier

Pitbulls are also banned when they are discovered to be aggressive and vicious, have poor health conditions and used for illegal activities like Bull-baiting. They were also trained as attack dogs by some criminals.

Not all dog breed banned in a particular country are seen as dangerous and vicious in another. Some breeds that are banned as aggressive dogs are seen as loyal and gentle dogs in other countries.

In some countries where pitbulls are not completely banned or restricted, before you can have the license to house it, you must be of legal age (18 and above), be mentally and physically healthy with no criminal records.

Here are a list of countries where pitbulls are banned completely or restricted;

  • Australia
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Ecuador
  • France
  • Hong Kong
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Malta
  • Malaysia
  • New Zealand
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore

SEE MORE: Things You Should Know About Baby Pitbulls

  • Spain
  • Switzerland
  • UAE (United Arab Emirates)
  • UK (United Kingdom)
  • Ukraine
  • Venezuela
  • Bermuda Islands
  • Canada
  • Germany
  • Puerto Rico
  • Russia
  • Turkey
  • USA
  • Brazil
  • Finland
  • Guyana
  • China
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein

Leave a Comment